Customer Testimonials

LOCAL CUSTOMERS

Furutech’s Power NanoFlux NCF Power cables and Flux-50 NCF in-line filter under review

During my 30 years that I played around with audiophile equipment and in the process built up a couple of reference systems for myself, I always had been extremely guilty of totally neglecting the power side of things. Understand me right, it is not that I do not agree to the importance of good power cables; it is more a case of the last priority that often got neglected. Furthermore, I always argued the point away by saying that I have the cleanest and most stable power in the country. How come? I am the only user in the whole area to tap three phase power direct from an ESCOM main feeder, using only the two “clean” phases for my sound rooms, leaving the dirty phase shared by the other users for my household stuff. This configuration also led me to the conclusion that power conditioners strip away some of the magic in the midrange and treble from my reference VTL Siegfried 400 power amplifier.

This was the case until early in January 2017, when I received a Furutech’s Power NanoFlux NCF EU (FI-50) NCF Power cable and a Furutech Flux-50 High End Performance Filter (FI-52) with NCF technology to be used to power the Siegfried power amplifier.

 

 

I also changed my wall outlet to a Furutech High End Performance SCHUKO wall socket (FT-SWS NCF) - Carbon Fibre Finish (Rhodium) with NCF technology.

Everything about this fantastic power chord screams extreme - its sophisticated construction, geometry, and materials, pure silver and gold impregnated conductors, the best termination that I’ve ever seen, and, yes, breathtaking price. I am not going to bore the reader by repeating all the Furutech patent and white paper information. Since the cable was brand new, I expected some serious burn in time, so I left my system playing for 24 hours without paying attention. My first listening impressions were positive, purity of sound probably the best descriptor, but I also experienced some brightness. As time progressed toward 100 hours of use, I started to experience some extreme improvement, but also some ups and downs.

For this reason, but also in order to review the power cord on my Reference Halcro DM 88 mono block amplifiers, I requested a second 2.8-meter power cord from AVCables. This time a properly burnt in one arrived, and to my surprise, the improvement in sound quality was instantly evident, although the first cable by this time was also settling very nicely.

My first comment around these superior power chords are that they cannot be judged without allowing considerable burn-in and settling time. In this regard, I would like to thank AvCables for their patience and willingness to part with these very expensive products for almost three months. Definitely do not draw any conclusions before 300 hours of use. Secondly, during burn in, they definitely go through phases of improvement and deterioration, just like I’ve experienced with many of the other high end equipment that I’ve evaluated over the years.

My reference system is highly revealing, and the purist character of these power chords was instantly evident.  I do not need to search for a lot of audiophile descriptors to explain the overall improvement in the sound quality that I experienced. More detail, and more detail, and more finer detail against a quieter background, deeper and wider soundstage, and a phenomenal improvement in the mid and lower base punch and detail. On the other hand, the upper mids and treble got so clean and pure, that I suddenly started to listen to less well recorded material – absolutely no harshness and distortion were evident in the high frequency notes.

One night I pulled out a very difficult CD (Telarc SACD-60579, The Mormon Tabernacle Choir with Orchestra at Temple Square), and was mesmerized by the unveiling of this very big choir in my listening room. This is a very difficult piece of music and most systems fail to fully and properly resolve the large choir and orchestra. My system however did it like I’ve never heard before. I’ve never expected that two power chords, connected directly to two Schuko wall outlets, and then to my house copper wire and circuit breakers, could bring out so much more from my Reference Halcro DM 88 mono block amplifiers and Vivid Audio Giya G1 speakers. The same applied when I switched over to the VTL Siegfried valve amplifier, with the second cable connected to my DcS Vivaldi DAC.

 Going back to my standard power cables, was definitely a step backwards, and I miss the Furutech NanoFlux power chords to such an extent, that I’ll probably place an order in the near future.  These power cables will add the final touch and finesse to any good audiophile sound system. To conclude, a must to have in any good system, with the degree of improvement a big surprise to me.

Equipment used: DcS Vivaldi front end, SME 30/2A with Dynavector DRT-XV-1t cartridge, Halcro DM10 pre-amplifier, Halcro DM 88 monoblocks / or VTL Siegfried 400 valve amplifier, Vivid Audio Giya G1 loudspeakers, Kimber Select KS 2120, KS 1126, KS 3035, Crystal Reference cables, Furutech Nanoflux under review, Sound Structures stands.

Review notes by M Cronje - March 2017


 Hi Jeandre,

Just a quick note on the latest and best sounding acquisitions to my audio toys J …….

Do cables really make a difference in a good sound system, let’s see where we get to after this tale? I was never a firm believer that cables made a significant difference in a sound system, and in the early years only chased down and upgraded to the best equipment that I could afford.

Then a friend brought around a pair of high end interconnects from Audioquest (Lapis), and mmmmm there was a discernible improvement, and so the journey began, but was strictly limited to interconnect and speaker cables. Again some 10 years ago, with my system evolved to reasonable high end status, a dealer friend of mine convinced me to try power conditioning, and a moderate upgrade of all power cables, and I was genuinely surprised at the margin of difference this made.

All of this led to a lot of research and reading on the internet, and trawling through the love/hate minefield of cables, specifically in the high end forums. I eventually ended up with all Cardas and Analysis plus top line cabling, and was almost content with the sound, which I always benchmark against live performances, and attend these whenever I can.

So the search continued, and eventually I came across the Furutech Flux line and purchased the Flux speaker cables and interconnect,

and was seemingly content, until Jeandre brought across the new [Furutech] Nano Flux power cable, initial listening showed major improvement with just the first power cable from wall to power distribution replaced. Then came 320 hours of hell to run the PC in, and in this period it generally sounded terrible (I nearly gave up on them here), however once they passed this mark the cable was a revelation. What it brought to the show was unrivalled dynamics, expanded staging in both depth and width, as well as adding an extra finesse to the sound – needless to say the cable stayed.

The next new visitors were the [Furutech] Nano Flux speaker cables, which Jeandre kindly ran in before handing over, a great relief as I did not want to go through the run in blues again. These cables are the most neutral and transparent I have ever heard, and have added an openness and fluidity in the ebb and flow of the music I have never heard before – fantastic. Music now just flows effortlessly from a pitch black background, with huge dynamics and finesse that is akin to live performances, audio nirvana indeed. Now to wait for Furutech to release the Nano flux interconnects…….

The Nano range is not cheap, but by comparative high end comparison, they are an absolute bargain in price to performance ratio – to exceed them you would have to move to Odin 2 range from the competitor at really silly money!

Keep up the good service Jeandre, and bring us more of the same going forward. 

Best regards,

D Jooste - Feb 2017


 

 Very impressive Jeandre (Furutech FA Alpha S22 OCC balanced analogue audio cable terminated with CF-601MR / CF 602FR XLR plugs).

I can hear it needs running-in, but the sound quality is unbelievable. It is uncannily musical. It adds a wonderful natural tone, especially in the mids while being very detailed. Leading edges are explicitly defined. The tonal balance suit my system better than the outgoing Audioquest Sky.....which is a $2000 cable!

 

 

I think I should slowly convert my whole system to Furutech.

 

Anybody that scoffs at bulk cable should come and listen to this. I am switching on the fly between vinyl and CD. The vinyl side still has Audioquest cables. The difference is unbelievable. The soundstage with the Furutech is about 20% bigger with much more organic and smoother presentation. Previously the vinyl side sounded much better than the network player with Audioquest Sky!

D Henning - Nov 2016


 

......Big difference (Furutech GTX-D(R) NCF US Receptacles).

 

Wipes the Oyaide R01 off the board. More detail. Smooth tops, cleaner bottoms and realistic bass with accuracy and detail.

 

Listening at low volumes as sound is more palpable. Oyaide sounded grainy. This is smooth. Sweet musical organic. Pass labs never sounded so Nelson Pass ever! Just beautiful.

 

Journey ends for me. I'm happy. Sound like I have a different system.     

Dr I Rawat - May 2016


 

 ......perhaps the most important upgrade in the area of power conditioning (and without question, one of the most significant hi fi upgrades I have ever made) was my recent purchase of the Furutech Daytona 303 E Multi Mode AC Power filter/distributor. I purchased the Daytona 303, largely on the basis of an audition of the unit as installed in Jeandrés’ system some four years ago. What remained of this audition in my audible memory since that time was just how incredibly quiet his set-up was despite the fact that the components used were relatively modest - employing lower end cables – yet the music emanated from a dead quiet, jet-black background and in this regard, was certainly superior to my own equipment. It was probably at that moment that I truly came to appreciate that a top power conditioner like the Furutech Daytona would have to be a mandatory upgrade for my own audio system. However funding not being available at that time, I had to wait and only managed to spring for the unit relatively recently.     

 

Once the Daytona was installed into my rig, I was even more taken with the result; there is no doubt that this upgrade provided the sonic equivalent of the spending of at least R100 000 on a major new component, whether source or amplification; it was hard to believe that a mere power conditioner (indeed, a ‘passive’ power conditioner!) could make such a difference. With the Daytona in my system it was evident that for the first time, I was truly beginning to hear the sonic merits of the Spendor SP100’s and all my other cables and components that I had added over years of upgrading: more detail, a clearer more focused soundstage and a finer, smoother delineation of the treble frequencies and so on.

 

In conclusion, I need to endorse all the Spendor, Ecosse and Furutch products stocked by Jeandré at AV Cables, not to mention the expertise and free advice which have been made available to me and many other audiophiles over the years.   

Mark Norman - August 2015


 Furutech products, snake-oil, music-lovers and audiophiles

I have been in the audio game and have been collecting and listening to Hi-Fi for some twenty-five years. About five years ago I began my relationship with Jeandré Botha of AV Cables and since that time I can truly say that my Hi-Fi’s sound quality has matured in a manner that I scarcely thought possible.

Obviously over the years I have come to clearly hear the difference between different components and have since come to a point where I have invested in flea-watt valve amplification of the single-ended variety (Jeandré himself rightly expressed some concern about this - together with the general state of my mental health last year, when I informed him that I was listening to a 5 watt per channel amplifier. I have since upped my game to some serious behemoths – 18 Watts a channel). 

Years ago when I first got into the game, despite clearly recognizing that there was a certain amount of ‘snake oil’ in the Hi-Fi industry – especially when it came to certain esoteric cables and other bizarre items which allegedly improve one’s sound (I’m thinking as an example, of Art Dudley’s review of Peter Belt’s ‘audio cream’ in Stereophile last year!) I have also had to reluctantly arrive at the conclusion that audio cables do indeed sound different, and like it or not, can make a huge difference to the performance of any well-set-up stereo or home theatre system.

Also going back some time, I remember listening to Jeandré of AV Cables play the same track on his own system, using the Ecosse SMS 4.7 speaker cable (actually my own choice at home) and then, after playing through the song, swapping the SMS 4.7 out for the Ecosse US2 Ultima Silver cable, and cueing up the same song again. My jaw hit the ground. The difference was clearly audible and it wasn’t subtle. There was no ‘funny business’ going on either; (‘fairy dust’- and all that) it was all above board (I couldn’t help it, later I bought the US2 Silver – for pity’s sake what was I supposed to do?).

But surely those of us in this hobby (hanging onto the last vestiges of our sanity) have to draw the line (and close our wallets) at some point. After all, where does it all end? Surely at some point, sanity must prevail (Or alternatively, the wife)? As one of my new Millennium’s resolutions, I decided to draw the line at power cables – for it is here I surmised, where all the ‘snake oil’ of our hobby is to be found. After all, each of us has miles of ‘dirty’ electricity (full of EMI and RFI interference) pumped to our homes via miles of sub-standard, non-shielded municipal cables (except when they are stolen). How can the last meter or two make any difference? Yes, I could smell the snake-oil.  

Nevertheless, cutting a long story short - after reading positive power conditioner and power cable reviews, written by internationally respected audio writers whose judgment I trust; reviewers like John Atkinson, Martin Colloms, Michael Fremer and Art Dudley himself (even Sam Tellig – the ‘audio cheapskate’) etc, I decided to contact Jeandré in order to give the Furutech power cables and products a listen.

Having at that stage what I believed were perfectly adequate ‘home-made’ power cables, I decided to firstly listen to the Furutech e-TP 80 power conditioner. I did not expect anything special as I had already given a listen to a friend’s American-made active power conditioner (at three times the price of the Furutech unit I might add) and I found that the many critics were correct: some power conditioners might provide certain benefits in one department, whilst stealing from another. When I listened to the American product in my system I clearly heard that the flow and the dynamics of the music were adversely impacted by the power conditioner. 

However, the first thing that really impressed me about Furutech products was the build quality, the attention to detail and the engineering. There was an essential ‘matter of fact,’ integrity about these products and the literature clearly illustrates that the performance of each item in Furutech’s product range is based on solid scientific research.

The Furutech e-TP 80 passive conditioner really blew me away, as it revealed none of the drawbacks evident with the American unit. I could not believe that a passive power conditioner could make such an improvement to the music coming out of my system. In this regard, I could tick off all the ‘usual suspects:’ An audible, more natural ‘flow’ to the music, and much quieter backgrounds; the music came from a ‘blacker’ space, much more detail was to be heard on the tops (especially brush work on symbols, etc), and the instruments on the soundstage took on a more delicate, three dimensional character.  It was as if I had dropped thousands of Rands on a new CD player or amplifier. For the first time I was really beginning to fully hear why my Ecosse speaker cables were so good (they weren’t half-bad before!).

Having now been ‘converted’ when it came to the use of power conditioners (I bought the e-TP80), I then started using the Furutech FP-3TS20 cable (mere ‘bulk cable’!), together with the entry level FI-11 Furutech IEC/Schuko plugs. I initially felt confident that my own ‘home-grown,’ home-shielded, ‘turbo-charged’ power cables (using silver wire and fancy shielding – don’t ask!) would be at least as good as the Furutech wires. Wrong again, there was no comparison. The impact and performance of the Furutech cables with the e-TP 80 was phenomenal, providing similar but much greater increments to the improvements that I had already heard using the power conditioner alone.  Furthermore, the more Furutech cable I put into my system, exchanging it with my home grown ones, starting with the source and then moving down to the preamp and then the power amps, etc, the better things became.

But was I just self-deluded? Perhaps I just wanted to hear the difference?  Perhaps I needed a shrink? Yet when I invited friends who had heard my system many times prior to that moment, to come over and listen, music lovers and a couple of highly accomplished, semi-professional musicians (a guitarist and a violinist) who were not in any way audiophiles, they were blown away. They couldn’t believe that the huge improvement to the sound was simply because of new ‘wires’ (As an aside, it’s easy to discern whether or not an individual is an ‘audiophile,’ or a ‘music lover.’ Music lovers look at you funny when they notice that your triple screened speaker cables have been raised up from the floor and rest in silly little stands).

I conclude by simply saying that even if you are not an ‘audiophile,’ but simply a saner, music lover – give AVCables a ring, and give Furutech a try. After all; time is short and the new Millennium is passing us by.

Regards,

Mark Norman - May 2013


 Hi Jeandre,

I am blown away! I cannot believe the difference this unit (Furutech Flow-28) makes in my system. The biggest difference is in the overall increase in musicality, it sounds so much more closer to live music! There is a smoothness and calm that has come over the music that is utterly addictive and beguiling. The soundstage is also bigger, with a much lower noise floor. Bass is tighter with a bit more upper bass slam, and perhaps slightly less bass weight





All kinds of detail are emerging that was not apparent before. I wonder how it will sound after the obligatory 500 hours settling period! I have the unit before the distributer. Very impressed indeed.

Douglas Henning - March 2013


 Hello Jeandre!

Here it is! "My" Feature Article: Furutech Fuse Review

My listening room is 5.3m (L) x 3.30m (w) x 2.80m (H). The room is carpeted and furnished with a 3 seater couch that sits centred 1.10m from the rear wall, and there is a heavy wooden coffee table a short distance in front of the couch. The entire width of the rear wall is a cd rack that is 2.0m high.  The wall behind the hi-fi cabinet is curtained, and the side walls have large picture frames mounted on them. The Paradigm S8 floorstanding front speakers are positioned either side and in front of the hi-fi cabinet and are positioned 1,40m off the front wall, and 0.5m off the side wall. Speaker toe in is aimed at my shoulders when seated in the centre seat of the couch. These speakers, with upgraded internal wiring, are bi-amped via an Anthem P5 power amplifier. The source of the music is via a Wadia transport and Wadia DAC, and this signal is sent to a Mark Levinson 38S pre-amp. All interconnects and speaker wire are of silver construction. Clean, regulated electrical power is supplied from a dedicated A/C circuit with upgraded 4mm 3 core shielded wiring to an active voltage regulator which feeds the power condition, which then distributes power to the various stereo and A/V components.

I initially entered the hi-fi scene as a cable/wire sceptic. Wire is wire. All wire is the same. Having an open mind I spent much time reading and in discussion before I got some hands on comparisons with various speaker wires and interconnects. As the quality of the wiring used improved I learned that good wiring does less damage in the signal path, and this was good, as the music became more enjoyable and "believable". Alas the story of diminishing returns is very real, so I only upgraded to a realistic value for money price point. It does not take much to realise that a cable upgrade was often cheaper than a component upgrade, and this better quality cable can reveal more of your sound systems potential, reducing the need for a better component. Over time my system grew without breaking the bank or having to trade components.

As my experiences with various cables developed I got to thinking about fuses. Whether you have a megabuck sound system or one that is just enough to break the silence around you, all these sound systems have one thing in common. They all have cheap nasty fuses. I appreciate that every component must be built within a certain price point, but that little glass fuse that costs between fifty cents and two rand could be a component choker. After much research, the popular opinion is that fuses do not and cannot make a difference. Most of the writers of these negative comments had never tested fuses themselves. A small handful of positive reviews were found - by people who had tried upgraded fuses themselves. I approached various high end hi-fi dealers in town in a quest to buy a few. Some of the hi-fi dealers who have become friends over time teased me that I must be bored - I should just buy a better replacement component - or I get too carried away with eking out every ounce of performance my system has to offer. "Why not!" I would joke, "Surely a system is the sum of all its parts. Why not make small affordable upgrades that can release any hidden potential within the hi-fi components!?" I figured the worst case scenario would be that I would have a handful of brand new but pricey fuses. I contacted Jeandre Botha of AV Cables, the man responsible for distributing Furutech goodies across the land, and shortly thereafter I received five shiny silver and blue Furutech rhodium plated fuses. Knowing that my fellow hi-fi enthusiast friends were waiting to throw pie in my face I gave the fuses a quiet audition before allowing them to visit for some A-B-A comparisons. Wow. Yes just that one word. Wow. That little fuse did THAT to my beloved system. (Actually the transport takes 3 fuses). Not to be fooled, as some people listen to the price tag or the dent in their wallets, I had a friend, Shani Kleyn, visit and she rapidly swapped fuses while I sat blindfolded in my seat. Every time the Furutech fuses were fitted into the cd transport I immediately heard a positive difference. After repeated A-B-A comparisons Shani stated that the music was smoother, clearer and easier to listen to with the Furutech fuses compared to the stock fuses. I had to agree as she was quite right. I then replaced the 2 fuses in the pre-amp, and again an improvement was heard. We were unable to decide which of the two components benefitted most from the fuse upgrade.

Knowing that my purchase was no financial loss I smugly (as I knew my face would be pie free) invited my hi-fi friends over. "Bring your favourite music along" I instructed. They arrived. The cd transport housing and internal shields were removed to allow speedy access to the fuses. The exposed transport was hidden behind a make shift cloth shroud so that the internals could not be seen by straying eyes. The music system was switched on whilst fresh coffee beans were ground and brewed. More jokes were made about the fuses, but these listening sessions have always been fun so I wasn't perturbed. Our systems had all grown and evolved through these test sessions. None of the listeners here are fans of loud music. The 38S volume range is from 0 to 90. 40 was selected as being the accepted listening volume. The listening process started. Jack Johnson, Michael Buble, Diana Krall, Sting, Four Play, Keb Mo, Katie Melua, Norah Jones and Sara K all took turns to audition themselves. The A-B-A process was regularly repeated. The original system (cd transport with stock fuses) had a really enjoyable foot tapping character. When the 3 Furutech fuses were inserted the change in sound quality was immediate. Jack Johnson sounded more easy going. Michael Buble does a duet with Nelly Furtado (Quando Quando) - she lost that nasal tone she previously had. In the song "Home" by Michael Buble, the emotion of the song had a greater presence. Diana Krall and Norah Jones' piano must have had a polish as the sound of this instrument was more alive. Keb Mo's tapping of his leather shoes in the studio floor was sharper, the cello played by One Republic in  "The Secret" was more haunting and emotional. The typical tobacco smoking burbin drinking roughness in Sara K's voice was more distinctive. All listeners agreed - music coming from the silent background was clearer, more revealing, unveiled and certainly more present with the Furutech fuses. It was only after the testing that the listeners got to see any of the fuses. Every time the Furutech fuses were clippped in place the audience reported an improvement. In an attempt to dupe the listeners I unclipped the stock fuses, fumbled behind the shroud and clipped the stock fuses back in place. The agreed response - "No Change". No hiding that the Furutech fuses are superior. Both Garth Roberts and Shani Kleyn commented that as good as the stock system is, with the Furutech fuses the system lost its graininess and was less fatiguing. Eddie Kotze in his immitation lisp way of speaking commented that the music was more "fresh and crithpy". Sean Black and Quintin Benson commented the sound was clearer and more open.

So in months to come every fuse in the system including the TV and the A/V system will be replaced. After that... I am going to explore the world of upgraded power plugs. As I sit here typing this I am grinning from ear to ear. Unlike "The king and his new cloths story"  I am satisfied that the cost of the fuses was money well spent. The Furutech fuses are certainly an affordable and worthwhile investment.

Ronald Pearson – July 2011


Hi Jeandre,

 I would like to share my experience on the Furutech TP80e with you.

After testing various and even more  expensive line conditioners and having one of them in my system for a long time, I had the opportunity to test the TP 80e in my Hi Fi system and immediately purchased it.

 It was like a blanket you lifted from my system. I always had the theory that one must first clean up the electric power supply and then only start experimenting with equipment, interconnects and speaker cables.

 With the Furutech TP80e the detail, imaging and sound stage improvement was phenomenal.

 It was as though my Plinius SA100 and the complete system was breathing properly. Then only I realized  with the other conditioners it was as though you were strangling the system.

 I want to add that I installed a dedicated electric line from the main DB box outside my home to the music room, to keep the supply line out of the electric noise of the house hold.

 I fully recommend this line conditioner and mated to the Furutech Gold or Rhodium plugs and top quality cables will make a substantial difference to any Stereo Hi Fi system or Home Cinema system.

 The Furutech TP80e is probably the best value per Rand you can spend on your system.

 Regards

 Ivan Olivier—September 2010


 Dear Jeandré.

I recently acquired some Ecosse Big Red power cables (very svelte looking) and a Furutech E-TP80E power distributor and filter. Firstly I would like to commend you on your first rate service and advice. I think this is one of the things lacking in the South African market (and not just the AV business), but that is a story for another forum.

My system consists of some well known American high end amplification with Naim being in charge of the source duties.

I always enjoyed my system but always felt that something was missing. Until recently I could not put my finger on the problem, and then I visited some high-end demo room. I remember that day clearly as my wife was with me stating while we were auditioning that that particular system makes you want to join in with the music with a tap of the foot and nodding of the head (price comparable to my system). The music selection was not even my cup of tea.

Then the light went on, timing and drive was what was lacking in my system. Back at home my suspicions were confirmed.

Remembering a chat I had with you some months ago when I wanted to purchase some speaker cables, you hinted that the source of my problems might be on the AC supply side. As an avid DIY man I went on doing some experiments, building power cables in various shapes and sizes. A good improvement I must say, so I wondered how a well made power cable would sound like.

Then an opportunity presented itself to acquire some Ecosse Big Red UC power chords and with your help I subsequently purchased the Furutech E-TP80E power distributor and filter as well.

Making some poor purchase choices in the past I hoped that at the very least things will sound the same. I thought about your advertised money back guarantee and decided I do not have much to lose.

Boy was I in for a surprise. The Big Reds brought that toe tapping experience into my system, drive and pace aplenty, and it is definitely not a subtle change. The system now differentiates between tempos in music pieces as well, truly a strange experience when the music in some cases sounds slower yet more upbeat. It is very difficult to convey that feeling into words. The detail presentation went from a soft sound at the back of the sound stage to “Oh so that was what I thought I heard in the past”, truly amazing. Even the wife had something to say about the newly enquired drive and vigour of the sound system.

Now to the Furutech E-TP80E power distributor and filter. This very well built device did an important job other than protecting my investment against power surges (reason alone to purchase this device), and that was that it got rid of that upper frequency glare I was experiencing on my system. A gritty harshness disappeared, rendering long listen passages a pleasure. It might be too much of a good thing on systems that are soft on the leading and trailing edges to start with, but with solid state gear partnered with speakers using metal dome tweeters it certainly soothes things. However, one should not misinterpret this soothing of the upper frequencies with a lack of detail.

I always say the proof is in the pudding when you disconnect newly acquired equipment and put back the old ones. In this case the answer (or rather the question) is simple: How could I have lived without this for so long.

 Thank you from a very pleased customer.

F Jooste - August 2010


Hi.

There is a “hell” of a difference in the sound quality with the new (Furutech USB GT2 ) cables.

I think it is worth the price that I paid, thank you.

Regards

André van der Walt - January 2010


Jeandre

Ek is ’n aanhanger van die “swart CD’s” – Veral op “midrange”( volgens my smaak en gehoor) het LP’s se klank nog altyd die van CD’s vêr geklop. Ek was altyd bewus van die belangrikheid daarvan om vibrasies uit te skakel, maar het tot onlangs net aan ekstern gegenereerde vibrasie gedink. Eers onlangs het ek gehoor watter verskil dit maak as jy ook van interne vibrasie binne toerusting kan ontslae raak!

Ek het twee probleme met klankgehalte van my Clearaudio Champion draaitafel en Kontrapunkt C cartridge gehad. Aan die een kant het die bas nie dieselfde “pace” as CD speler gehad nie terwyl hoë frekwensies klink asof die stylus nie behoorlik “track” nie. Verstellings aan tracking force, azimuth, anti skating and tracking angle kon dit nie uitsorteer nie. 

Die “klamp” wat saam met die Clearaudio gekom het, was meer ’n verskoning as ernstige poging to ’n klamp. Ek was dus dadelik geïnteresseerd toe ek jou e-pos kry wat die Furutech Monza bekendstel. Ek werk altyd op die beginsel dat as ek iet nuuts in my Hi-Fi installeer en ek nie dadelik ’n verskil hoor nie, dit nie die moeite werd is nie. Jy moet nie die verskille “soek” nie. Met die installasie van die Monza het dinge skielik in plek begin val. Die hoë frekwensie “mis-tracking” was weg en die bas het “tightness en pace” gekry. Integrasie het ook verbeter, die klank vorm ’n beter geheel en dit klink nie meer of die “upper frequency band” bygelas is nie. Die eerste indrukke is gevorm deur ’n Mobile Fidelity Half Speed Master LP te speel. Die verbeterings is ook bevestig deur ander plate van verskillende gehalte. Selfs op ou MFP labels (die swakste van die swakste!) is die verbetering onmiskenbaar.

Baie mense sal dalk frons om die hoeveelheid geld op ’n “Stabilizer” of “Record Clamp” te spandeer. As jy egter reeds die belegging in ’n hoë resolusie klankstelsel gemaak het is dit nie ’n opsie nie, jy moet dit hê. Ek het ’n review op die Internet gelees waar die persoon die Monza direk kon vergelyk met die klamp van ’n Transrotor draaitafel (terloops waarvan die topmodel jou tussen R 1.5 – R 2 miljoen (afhangende van die wisselkoers) sal terugsit!) en gevind het dat die Monza beter resultate gee. Volgens wat ek kon vasstel is die Rand prys ’n direkte omskakeling van die Euro/US$ prys, wat nie die reël in die plaaslike industrie is nie. Ek het al pryse gesien waar die Rand prys meer as dubbeld dié van die US$ or Euro weergawe na wisselkoers omskakeling is!

Nic Rossouw - October 2009


 Hi Jeandre

Review: Furutech Demag

 

Zap CDs on this machine (Furutech DeMag) and you will notice much more 'space' and depth, tonal density, and musical ease. It is very similar to changing from good solid state to great valves - and this is on an all Audio Research valve system. It finally has made my Reference CD8 sound like high end analogue. To give you a sense of the magnitude of the improvement - very similar to spending at least double the cost on upgrading cables; as big an improvement as upgrading my preamp from LS26 to top-of-the-range Reference 5. Unbelievably (on my system) great value!

Cheers

Damien - October 2009

 Dear Jeandré

Furutech Power Treatment


This letter that I am writing to you is done with a big smile on my face – WHY?  Well let me explain.

During the first half of the year my wife saw very little of me on Saturday’s because I was busy with listening sessions in the Gauteng area.  The hunt was on for a new set of loudspeakers.  I eventually landed up by a supplier at 08H00 in the morning.  When we sat down to do some serious listening I were bowled over with the purity of the sound through the entire range – Whow!!.  The upper frequencies are a problem area on other systems for me as it hurts my ears.  Just get higher or lower I always wish.  The only problem I now faced was to spend R600K to get this, which I definitely do not have.  Well I did buy a new set of speakers from another brand and supplier that I really liked.

My next hunt began this year for a CD player.  I found one that does not sound digital at all.  I purchased this player.  Feeling much better regarding my overall improvement to my system I read in “Audio Video Magazine” a couple of issue ago that the power cable makes an improvement to your equipment sound.  I acquire a descent gold plated 3 Point power plug and IEC plug from another supplier.  I took my unused Puresonic loudspeaker cable and made up a power cord for my new CD player.  Now for the test of all tests – Whow, this cable sound amazing.  The bass was faster and tighter, the mid’s were round and the upper’s were more detailed.  I asked my daughter to listen to the difference in the standard stock power cable, supplied with every equipment that you buy, and the newly made up cable by me.  She responded with a “Shjoe!”.

Now the search began for power treatment.  The best place to start is the trusty web.  It is then when I explored Furutech and AVCables.  I then drove one Friday afternoon to their demo room to compare my “Magic power cable” and their Furutech power treatment.  I took some of my own CD’s along as reference.  We sat down and listened to your Furutech treated equipment and then swopped the CD player power cable to my “Magic power cable”.  This time the sound experience was Whow this sounds flat and rough.  I then new that I could not live with my system as it was and then bought the Furutech e-TP80E Power filter and four Furutech FP-314Ag power cables (entry level).

At home I connected the power equipment, because one should see the cables and power filter not as cables but part of your system, to my DVD player, CD player, Surround Processor and multi-channel amplifier.  UNBELIEVABLE how can power cables and a power filter make such a big difference.  There is that sensation back which I have heard with the R600K system (that system also had a power filter and power cables of a different make) I listened to the previous year.  Gone are the hurting upper frequencies.  The bass is much faster and more tight, the mid range is clear and the upper‘s are smooth and full of detail.  On DVD’s the experience is the same as on my CD player.  You won’t believe how my DSTV sound now even though I do not have the power treatment on the decoder yet.  I am now listening to CD’s that were collecting dust in the past.  It is just a joy to listen to music, DVD’s and movies now as they were intended to sound at any time of the day because the Furutech e-TP80E takes care of the noise on the power network.  It is quit difficult to put the experience into words as one should listen to it to fully understand the improvement to the sound.

I have used a short piece from the power cable supplied with the e-TP80E for my projector.  Whow - the picture is so much brighter and the colours are more detailed and natural.

If I could influence other people to start with the beginning, make sure your power is sorted out, and then look at your equipment next and then loudspeakers.  Remember the old computer saying “Garbage in – Garbage out”.  If you do not have the power treatment yet, GET IT!! You will be close to cloud 9 or even higher.  This is what music should be about, to enjoy the recorded stuff and not that noise from the power outlet.

What’s next – well I should say the next upgrade will be a Ecosse BIG RED for my CD player.  Furutech you beauty!!!!

Lionel Mostert, June 2009

 


 

 

Hello Jeandre,

Sorry about the delay in responding.  I've been without a PC for some time, operating from Blackberry.


The Furutech e-TP80E has been included in my system for some time now.  The improvements it brought about were subtle, yet distinctly noticeable. Backgrounds seemed more quiet, while focus and space within the sound stage improved dramatically.  Here is a hi-fi device that truly defies the "law of diminishing returns".  Whether you've spent ten thousand rand or two hundred and ten thousand rand (or substantially more), the addition of a Furutech e-TP80E will bring about a noticeable improvement to the picture your speakers manage to paint before you.  A great value for money upgrade.


I still remember my first experience with Ecosse power cables and Furutech plugs.  My hi-fi shop lent me a length of Ecosse Purple terminated with Furutech plugs.  I must be honest, I did not notice any improvements, so I returned the cable to the store.  After returning the cable, I noticed little magic appeared missing from my system.  One may not notice the addition of decent quality power cables, but you certainly miss them once they are removed.  All my power cables were replaced as soon as I could get hold of more Ecosse cable and Furutech plugs.


Kind regards


Charl Fourie - February 2009

 


 

Furutech HDMI cable.

 

The HDMI cable (Furutech HDMIxv1.3) was tested on an X BOX and a LCD HD ready Panel. Transferring the digital signal was effortless. The image was sharp, clear and decisive. The sound quality was clear, detail and precise. The images were very realistic.

 

I recommend this cable to any person looking for HDMI connectivity in order to experience the full HD experience.

 

 

A very impressive cable.

Chan Velab - February 2009


 Hi Jeandré,

I would like to provide you with written feedback on the power cables (Ecosse Big Red powerchord, fitted with Furutech FI-25R/FI-E35R plugs) that I purchased recently.  I’ve always resisted going down this avenue as my thoughts (as much as I acknowledged I was uneducated in this area) were that power cables are unlikely to provide tangible improvements in sound.  I wouldn’t necessarily have denied that some sound nut may pick up subtle differences, but I was skeptical whether they would make a difference in my life.

I am now somewhat humbled, what a realization!  Using the Furutech power filter (e-TP80E) and Ecosse cables has result in, what I would estimate as a 20% improvement in sound quality – which is huge.  I would go as far as to say that this has been the single biggest improvement in sound quality, more so than from upgrading my interconnects (possibly I would also say more so than upgrading my CD player which was not cheap but a superb upgrade nonetheless.)

The sound improvements are not subtle, and affect many aspects of sound quality, some of these being a substantial increase in detail, textures are now apparent that were not previously, considerable increase in realism and the soundstage has become truly three dimensional, airy, with sharp placement of instruments.

I know many people mention that cables (and filters) reduce the noise floor.  If you haven’t heard this for yourself it sounds like a boring concept, but these effects can be revolutionary.  I unplugged the new cables and plugged in the standard cables that came with my components – hard to believe that I once thought this sounded good.  Best way to describe it is that it sounded like someone threw a cloth over the sound, muddy and undetailed.

One other observation, I’ve not been totally enamored with SACD in the past.  I did hear an improvement compared to normal CD but not one that really evoked an emotional response.  With the new power configuration installed, what a difference.  I expect that much of the SACD detail was being lost.

I have now become quite passionate about this topic as I get frustrated by people who completely dismiss the ability for interconnects and power cables to play a major impact on sound quality.  Usually this dismissal is by people who have never tried these; their argument usually leverages off simplistic pseudo-science which is completely inaccurate.  My recommendation is always that someone purchase from a supplier that allows returns should the improvement in sound quality not meet the expectations of the purchaser.

Not to wax lyrical but appreciate the proficient service, unbiased guidance and flexibility you have provided during the above purchase.

Regards,

Edan Topolansky - October 2008

(follow-up message........)

Hi Jeandre,

Hope you are well.  Just wanted to let you know that I am really appreciating my cable purchases.  I was listening to music most of the day yesterday.  I found myself listening right thru CD’s not wanting to skip thru tracks (very unlike me).  The system is sounding truly outstanding, sometimes beyond belief!

Edan Topolansky - November 2008


Hi Jeandre

Herewith my feedback on the Furutech Power Filter (e-TP80E), cable (Furutech FP-314AG) and plugs (Furutech IEC FI25G and FI-E35G) purchased recently. Firstly I must mention that I was NOT a believer that power filtering and power cables can improve your system sound quality. Since moving into my new home I experienced noise, mainly audible on my two front speakers. My Class A Monoblock Power Amplifiers was also running very very hot. So these the main reasons why I decided to purchase this equipment. I can summarise the results I obtained as follow:

  1. The noise generated through my power supply was totally eliminated. The small amount of noise still present is “generated” through the signal cable.

  2. My Power Amps are running much colder. I have measured these Amps running at temperatures in excess of 60 degrees Celsius. After the installation of the Furutech filter these amps are running at 24 to 25 degrees Celsius. I could not believe it !!!

  3. The sound transparency and clarity improved tremendously. So much so that I totally changed my believe that Power Filtration equipment is a waste of money. I was…and is still smiling from ear to ear.

So yes, the money spend was definitely worth it. And yes, Furutech Power Filtration equipment work.

Thank you again for your excellent service.

Pieter Wentzel, May 2008


Hi Jeandre

Thank You. I have received the cable (Furutech HDMI-N1 V1.3) and installed it on my Denon DVD – connected to my 40” Samsung LCDTV. I had my components connected at the same time as the Furutech HDMI so was able to make quick changes to see quality differences with the different DVDs.

These differences are very clear especially in the vibrancy of the colours, the components have a more bland appearance whereas the Furutech colours were sharp and in your face, especially on a DVD such as “CARS” PIXAR where they use high contrasting colours.

Definition was also much better.

I know I will only begin to really start testing the cable’s capabilities once I get a real HD source such as the forthcoming HDMI decoder and I will be looking at getting a BLueRay player.

Thanks again.

Regards

Steve English, June 2008